Optical Flow Based Paint

John, Random question. I was wondering if SA is capable of ingesting optical flow data and using this to drive paint strokes much how Mass Illusions used their 'Motion Paint' package to create the scenes in What Dreams May Come. SA seems to have many incredible paint capabilities, but the problem with all packages of this sort is they always seem to paint the scene in such a way so it seems like some sort of 2D filter has been applied. Optical Flow Data used in conjunction with matte layers for different approaches would seem to get around this issue as the paint effects of WDMC were quite 3D and probably the highest quality ever created of that nature. I would think that SA could recreate this and even improve highly upon it if optical flow data were able to be used to drive paint strokes or vectorization commands. I am no expert on SA, so for all I know people might already be doing this. If it hasn't been done yet though, the potential looks and possibilities would be immense. Thanks in advance for your input. Chris LeDoux

You need to be a member of Studio Artist to add comments!

Join Studio Artist

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• Version 4 (which is currently under development) has some temporal and optical flow based modulation options for the paint synthesizer and other operation modes.

You can use time particles today in the paint synthesizer to provide temporal continuity to paint strokes start point and or the actual paths themselves from frame to frame.