Rotoscoping Help

Im a new Studio Artist user and plan on using it for rotoscoping short films. I went through the tutorials on rotoscoping and understand the basic idea of applying the desired effects to a single frame and then letting the program auto-rotoscope the others. I have edited my films in iMovie and and converted/compressed the file to a .mov format so that I can rotoscope the entire film as opposed to breaking it down into scenes... How do I go about rotoscoping frame by frame? Is there a way to apply my PASeq to only certain groups of frames as opposed to the entire film? Is it possible to speed up the auto-rotoscoping proccess? ...any other tips or info would be great as I'm sure I've overlooked several features, thanks!

You need to be a member of Studio Artist to add comments!

Join Studio Artist

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• You should watch the tutorial movies on tutorial disc # associated with recording a Paint Action Sequence (PASeq) and the processing a movie file with a PASeq.

The basic idea is that you record into a PASeq the various operations you want to perform on your movie file while working with a single frame of the movie file. You then run the Action : Process a movie file with a paint action sequence : to a movie file menu command. This command asks your for the source movie to process, lets you set the size of the output movie, and then names the output movie, and then process the input movie frame by frame.

Starting in 3.5.2 there is also an additional menu option under Action that lets your process the loaded source movie to a movie, this is a shortcut menu that saves you the 2 steps of selecting the source movie and setting the canvas size.